User Roles & Permissions
Swivel User Roles & Permissions
Understanding Swivel User Roles & Permissions
Section titled “Understanding Swivel User Roles & Permissions”User Roles
Section titled “User Roles”User Roles define the permissions and access levels assigned to different users within the system. These roles help in managing and controlling what each user can do and see within Swivel.
Swivel has 5 user roles:
Section titled “Swivel has 5 user roles:”- Owner
- Manager
- Staff
- Compensation
- Agent
- Full access to all features and settings, including Billing and the Custom Fields Management Experience.
- Access to the Email Domain Integration.
- Responsible for inviting new users as well as managing users and their associated roles in Swivel
- Users with the Owner role can view the email and calendar sync status of all users in the account. If a user’s email or calendar connection becomes disconnected, an alert will be displayed so the issue can be identified and resolved promptly.
- Responsible for maintaining Swivel features by using the Advanced Setup and Data Setup configurations.
- Visibility to Map Values for Swivel Summary.
- Owners can export a complete note history for selected contacts using the Notes Audit Export.
Manager
Section titled “Manager”- Elevated permissions with access to most settings except Billing and Managing Users.
- Access to Data Setup in account settings.
- Can set Agent Goals for users with the agent role.
- Visibility to Map Values for Swivel Summary.
- Standard access to Swivel’s core features including visibility and editing privileges for Contacts and Marketing.
Compensation
Section titled “Compensation”- Access to compensation-related sections of Swivel including view and manage all compensation inside of Swivel (see Add & Manage Compensation).
- Exclusive access to the Agent Compensation Report.
- Includes standard access granted to Staff user role and is paired with agent data.
- Access the Managing Agents in Swivel page to learn more about creating Agents and managing Agent information.
Document & SSN Visibility Permissions
Section titled “Document & SSN Visibility Permissions”Document and SSN visibility permissions are separate from standard user roles. These permissions control whether an account user can view documents and/or SSNs.
To update these permissions:
-
From the left-side main menu, go to Settings.
-
Under Account Settings, click Users.
-
Find the user and click the Action Menu.
-
Click Edit.
-
Under Permissions, select or deselect:
- Can view documents
- Can view SSNs
-
Click Save.
Reports Permissions by User Role
Section titled “Reports Permissions by User Role”| Reports | Owner | Manager | Compensation | Agent | Staff |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birthday Report | x | x | x | x | |
| Annual Reviews Report | x | x | x | x | |
| Agent Commissions Report | x | x | |||
| Sales Report | x | x | x | x | x |
| Product Report | x | x | x | x | |
| Account Transactions | x | x | x | x | |
| PII Report | x | x | |||
| Duplicate Contact Report | x | x | x | x | |
| Bounced Emails Report | x | x | x | x | |
| Imports Report | x | x | x | x |
Settings Permissions by User Role
Section titled “Settings Permissions by User Role”| Permissions | Owner | Manager | Commissions | Agent | Staff |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Profile | x | x | x | x | x |
| Calendar & Email Sync | x | x | x | x | x |
| Email Domain | x | x | |||
| Billing | x | ||||
| Account | x | ||||
| Data Setup | x | x | |||
| Marketing Organization | x | ||||
| Advanced Setup | x | x |
Import Permissions by User Role
Section titled “Import Permissions by User Role”| Permissions | Owner | Manager | Commissions | Agent | Staff |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contact Import | x | x | |||
| Compensation Import | x | x | |||
| Transaction Import | x | x | x | x | x |
| Appointment Import | x | x | x | x | x |
| Task Import | x | x | x | x | x |
| Redtail Import | x | ||||
| Wealthbox Import | x |
Manage User Roles
Section titled “Manage User Roles”Only users that have an Owner role can add and edit user roles in your Swivel account.
- From the left-side main menu, go to the Settings tab.
- Under the Account Settings > Click Users.
- Find a specific user > go to Action Menu > click Edit
- From the Edit User form, go to Roles field.
- Select/deselect any Roles you would like to associate/disassociate to the user.
- Click Save.

